The ISSSS’s highest honor is named for William Stephenson, the man who created Q and who spent his life developing and shaping Q Methodology theory and practice to advance the study of human subjectivity.

The William Stephenson Award is presented to that individual who demonstrates a life-long passion and commitment to carry on the work of Dr. Stephenson, both inside and outside of the ISSSS community, and is dedicated to Q Methodology research, including both applications and theoretical perspectives.

This award is presented when the ISSSS Executive Board determines that a recipient is worthy of the award, and the board honors the recipient at an annual ISSSS conference on an as needed basis.  The award includes an appropriate plaque with an image of William Stephenson, and an accompanying monetary award.

The inaugural William Stephenson Award was presented in 2010 to Dr. Steven R. Brown, professor of political science, Kent State University.  In 2011, Dr. Hung Kyu Kim, professor of journalism, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Seoul, Korea, was presented with the award.  In 2012, the recipient of the award was Dr. Wendy Stainton Rogers, professor of health psychology, The Open University, Milton Keynes, UK.  In 2014, Dr. Dan B. Thomas, professor of political science, Wartburg College, received the award.

In 2022, the William Stephenson Award was presented to Mike Stricklin
in recognition of his invaluable contribution and commitment

to the ISSSS community and Q Methodology research